Opportunity


If you were google the definition of the word opportunity you would get something along the lines of “A set of circumstances that makes it possible to do something.” The synonyms listed; chance, luck, or the right set of circumstances. But to me, opportunity means so much more.

Opportunity is agriculture. One of my favorite quotes of all times is by Thomas Edison and says, “Opportunity is often missed by people because it is dressed in overalls and looks like work.” As a women in the agriculture industry I have learned that its not always pretty outfits and perfect hair (and ya’ll know how much I love my Lilly and Jacks). I often find myself walking through corn fields looking like a rodeo clown or in the calf barn covered in colostrum and in those moments, I have never been happier. Needless to say, your boy Thomas had it right. The opportunities in the agriculture industry may not be fashion forward or easy but every second is worth it.

Opportunity is feeding the world. Farmers work tirelessly day and night to raise crops and cattle and everything in between to make sure that we are clothed and fed. Farmers are not appreciated nearly enough. (Don’t forget to thank a farmer, duh!)

Opportunity is growing as a person. This can be anything from internships or student worker jobs to help gain knowledge about the industry to better yourself. Or it could also be finding yourself. I couldn’t tell you the many times I have caught myself riding down back roads staring into fields covered in cotton and sunsets. Farmland was Gods way of reminding us he loves us.

Opportunity is passion, success and dedication. A wise man (shout out to my dad) once said, “If you are looking for success, you must first find dedication.” While dedication is a very important key to success, I may have to argue this one (as always, sorry dad). I think if you are looking for success you must first find passion. You can be handed every opportunity in the world by “luck” or by “chance” and just throw it all away because your heart doesn’t have the passion for it.

Opportunity is what you make it. I have been given many opportunities in my life and I am very blessed. Granted some opportunities I passed up I do not regret it because it lead me to where I am today. I am currently working at a dairy for the summer and I am loving every minute of it. Yes, it is usually around 100 degrees outside (no joke) it is totally worth it because I am learning so much. I could be sitting by my pool at home listening to Jimmy Buffet but instead I am taking advantage of an opportunity and having a dang good time while I am doing it.

 

 

 

Leave a comment