The Journey Begins Here

August 15, 2009 I walked into something that would soon change my life. I walked into my first agriculture class. In that moment I knew that this is where I was meant to be. Just the atmosphere and people around me was so intriguing. I quickly joined and got as active as I could in the FFA. I did everything I could, from CDE’s to showing livestock. I spent the next four years of high school shaving pigs and preparing speeches. For me FFA was my home away from home. There would be times where my Advisors literally had to kick me out of their classrooms for wanting to stay later and study for CDE’s or work on things like POA’s. At times my mom even thought that pantyhose had become apart of my everyday wardrobe.

Graduation day came way too fast. It was like the last four years had just vanished in the blink of an eye. With my Blue and Gold FFA cords hanging around my neck on top of my black gown I realized something to myself that I had said a million times but it didn’t sink in until graduation day; This was the last time I would ever wear something blue and gold as a student. My life as an FFA member has come to a complete stop and I wasn’t even ready. It felt like I had just gotten started. In that moment I realized I didn’t want to give up the FFA and I didn’t have to! For years I told myself, “I want to teach agriculture,” but graduation day was when I knew that wasn’t going to just be a dream much longer. It doesn’t end for me now that I walked across the 50 yard line at the W. Claire Harris Stadium, the Journey begins here! IMG_0013

Leave a comment