Why Agriculture and Relationships Go Hand-in-hand 

Relationships are scary. I’ve watched and experienced many relationships, I thought were strong, fail. I’ve thought through many different ways to make sure that never happens to me and everytime I catch myself getting the same two answers everytime; God and agriculture. 

For many who aren’t involved in agriculture you are probably thinking you are crazy but for me it’s simple. In order to have a strong relationship you must have a strong relationship with Christ to build a strong foundation with your significant other. That one is pretty self explanatory. Agriculture is a strong passion of mine and some of my strongest and best friendships in my life are currently built on agriculture so why not let that flow over to my relationships. Agriculture can bring a lot to the table in relationships.

  1. Talking agriculture.  Sure we may not always agree on GMO’s or the way to judge a stock show class but that is okay. That is okay because I don’t know everything about agriculture and I’m opened minded to learn more everyday. I will just appreciate the fact that you can intellectually hold a conversation about agriculture, heck most guys today couldn’t even define GMO! 
  2. Livestock adventures. Some of my greatest memories with my family are on the farm or driving millions of miles singing Dixie Chicks pulling livestock trailers. I want to be able to continue that with someone who appreciates livestock and agriculture by my side.
  3. Many memories to come. Like I said, some of my greatest memories come from agriculture. If you share a passion for agriculture you probably have had the same experiences. Those are experiences you never want to end so our relationship will be full of growing our relationship and our passion for agriculture. 

As I finish my second year of college I know I am no where near ready to settle down. I have a lot more exploring this crazy world to do. But as I watch my friends get married and have kids all over Facebook, I wonder what it’s going to be like when I reach that point in my life. As long as I keep God and Agriculture in my relationship I know that one day I’ll marry my best friend. 

      Leave a comment